Hugh Dutton

by Russ on October 4, 2014

Can we all say, “minimalist?” It seems that we have the front of this business card on the top and the reverse on the bottom, but… perhaps it’s in bookmark form… We will go with the former for the purposes of this review.

For sure there was very little ink used to print this card. Getting 123InkJets coupons will give Hugh a vast quantity of business cards because the ink cartridges will last a long time.

The front is simply a white card with a wide gray border. In the lower left-hand corner are the initials of the company, HDA, in bold, black sans serif font with the full name written out just below in gray, “Hugh Dutton Associés.”

Like a scoop of blueberry ice cream, a luscious dot provides a dip of color to light up the card.

On the reverse–or bottom as the case may be–we see this is the owner’s card with his name dead center. Underneath is his email and phone number all in black for the important stand-out factor.

At the bottom, in gray, are the remainder of the particulars including the website, telephone and fax numbers and address for the business.

Once again we have a splash of blueberry ice cream in the form of the Twitter symbol followed by an invitation to follow them on Twitter and the details required to do so.

We are not given a clue as to what this business is, but we immediately believe it to be au courant by the sleek styling. Somehow a minimalist design says modernity, competence and even luxury.

They added just the right degree of panache by the splash of color on both front and back. The choice makes us think of a marine application, but we simply have no other clue. This would be the only negative in our desire to retain this card.

However, we would give them a call in Paris, just to enjoy their work space. 😉

Hugh Dutton business card

Gita Ayu

by Russ on September 8, 2014

We surely hope this in not an actual rock as business card. Although it looks like it is. No, it is not possible.

Let’s make the assumption that it is a photograph of a rock–or brick if you will with its reddish color and rectangular shape, deftly broken by the master of the dojo.

Upon further reflection, perhaps it is truly a rock and used as a sign at the entrance of the studio, indoors or out.

Either way, a clever concept. This neatly torn asunder brick tells all of the skills taught within. Well, at least the most popular skill. The quality of this printing requires high quality ink. By using 123InkJets coupons, businesses can save a lot of money on their printing budget. There are all sorts of deals to be used.

The name of the club is found on the left side in large, bold sans serif font with Senpai // Satas Karate Club written below. This information is presented as a strip label torn at all ends.

Senpai informs us that they have master students and instructors present to assist in the teaching of the novice members.

Broken off from this portion and hence on the right side of the brick is a symbol which we assume to be the logo of this particular club.

In the lower right-hand corner is another logo which we will take as being the symbol of this style of karate.

While we are enjoying the unique nature of this business card or entrance signage, it lacks information. Even if used at the entrance, a phone number and a website are crucial pieces of information. A business card needs a lot more information since it is, after all a business.

If a business card, surely one would want to include the address, also.

A tough one to evaluate, we give it five chops for creativity, but only one for usefulness in terms of advertising. Hai!

Gita Ayu's Brick Business Card?

{ 0 comments }

Michael Faber

by Russ on August 6, 2014

There is something about a simple line in the attitude of an upward arc. It speaks to taking off, the future, better things ahead.

Faber Design has used heavy card stock, framed the information in mottled gray tones and added a bright persimmon bottom edge to set off the neutral colors.

The card stock used seems so heavy that it may not bend easily–all the better for that business card that we do not want clients to lose.

This business card is divided into two main sections. The upper third carries the name of the group in all lower case with a distinctive logo to the left.

This portion is set off from the bottom two thirds by an embossed persimmon dotted line.

Beneath this is the owner’s name in larger, bolder font with his job title just below. All this is set off by European style quotation marks, again in persimmon.

Then we have listed three crucial pieces of contact information, each with a “bullet point” of a, once again, persimmon letter indicating website, email and phone number.

And last but not least is a highly stylized “Hello” in the lower right hand corner.

A look at Mr. Faber’s website reveals that his logo is made up of the “f” of faber and the “d” of design hanging out on the fringes of the charcoal gray square within a border creating a one-of-a-kind logo.

When we see a designer plying his wares not only on his card but also on his website, we know we are in for a treat when we hire him to design for us. While not Faber, PrintPlace does a very competent job and can help you promote your business in a professional way. Check this out for coupons on a wide variety of printed items.

Mr. Faber can’t possibly disappoint; we have the evidence right in front of us.

Michael Faber Design’s High Quality Business Card

{ 0 comments }

La Finca De Susana Restaurant

by Russ on May 17, 2014

Here is one of these business cards that just begs to be reviewed in the full context of the photograph in which it resides. Susana has supported her card with a yummy looking loaf of artisanal bread–freshly baked no doubt.

With a restaurant named La Finca de Susana, Susana’s Farm/Country Estate, we anticipate farm fresh produce, meats and, yes, freshly baked goods. Added to this is a business card evocative of that finca.

The card is on organic unbleached “muslin” card stock with seemingly hand painted watercolor stems and leaves curling around the business portion of the card. La Finca de Susana restaurant is printed in three varieties of fonts with Susana in large, cursive, stand-out red ink.

Interestingly restaurant is in the English or French spelling without the requisite “e” as the last letter required by Spanish. Below this and centered on the card is its telephone number, address in Madrid and website. Why not check out these guys for a fantastic deal for your own professional-looking business card?

A visit to the site reveals a conglomerate–restaurants and hotels that have banded together to form a beautiful, informative site highlighting a variety of elegant destinations in the northeastern sector of Spain.

La Finca de Susana‘s page displays exquisite photos of a warm, inviting and modern eatery in the formal style. There is little evidence of the country here, but not to worry, perhaps they are stressing by their business card that their food is straight from the farm to the table.

We’ll have to revise our English translation of finca most assuredly to country estate.

This is clearly an elegant establishment, serving farm fresh foods. Their business card well advertises this with its earthy feel and with the necessary information seeming to rise out of the ground from among the water-colored leaves. ¡Buen provecho!

La Finca De Susana Restaurant

Jean Robic

by Russ on May 13, 2014

This looks to be a signed copy of M Robic’s business card. Could it be that he is a famous cyclist, perhaps even a Tour de France winner?

Let’s begin by observing this somewhat out-of-focus white, black and gray-scale card. The top printed line, in a semi-script, reads “Friends, athletes,” and goes on to say in a welcome series of fonts, “Jean Robic is waiting for you at his bar-restaurant.”

Below this is the address, a brief one line of directions, followed by the city–Paris–the arrondissement or section of the city–the 14th–and what we assume is the phone number. Lastly are some letters and numbers of which we are unfamiliar.

Filling the entire third of the space on the right, is a photo presumably of Jean himself, perhaps with a winner’s pennant. There is a great deal of text–wholly unreadable unfortunately–in the lower left hand corner.

The fun part of this card, aside from his charming invitation to join him at his bar-restaurant (which seems nameless, by the way), is the note in red ink and M Robic’s signature. He just has to have been a famous fellow. You can get your fun card with a Moo promo code and get your image out in public with the professionalism of a winner.

And so he is! He was born in 1921, was a professional cyclist from 1943 to 1961 and he did indeed win the Tour de France in 1947. He was an unusually small man and used the technique (illegal today we suspect) of gathering water bottles filled with lead or mercury on his descents for increasing the assistance that gravity would offer.

No one thought he would be a successful cyclist. He practiced during World War II and turned professional in 1943. During that year, he fell, fractured his skull but continued the race. Thereafter he wore a leather helmet and was known, among other nicknames, as tête de cuir, or leather head.

When the war ended and the Tour de France was restarted, he was selected for a regional team to compete in the race. In a circuit worthy of a sports style soap opera, he won the grueling race, not by finishing in the shortest amount of time, but by picking up time bonuses in the Pyrenees. Go to Wikipedia, where we did our research, to read all the truly exciting details.

This business card reads like an invitation to come meet the leather-head winner of the 1947 Tour de France. Sadly, M Robic passed away in 1980, after an ignominious last few years, so the time is past to belly up to the bar and share a drink with him.

Jean Robic

Isabaud Couture

by Russ on May 3, 2014

This atelier-boutique in Lyon, France, appears to be a small house of fashion. The card is like the ever present little black dress every woman should have residing in her closet: elegant, simple and designed for all manner of accoutrement. Business cards like this exude quality and there is no better way for you to get one just like this than to click here for more info.

The front is rich midnight black with ISABAUD in large snow white caps with the word couture just below. These words cinch off the waist like a wide belt with a thin band of embellishment just underneath.

The reverse of this card is so European and so necessary. The bottom half features a map to help her clientele seek out her shop among the streets of Lyon which, as with all European cities, is laid out like a rabbit warren.

The top portion gives all the usual information such as address, hours, telephone and email address, again in white on a black background.

As we searched for Isabaud Couture on the Internet we discovered that she (we are presuming a woman) designs and creates hats, headbands and a variety of adornments for the hair. She also produces a variety of feminine accessories such as muffs, bustier-like upper garments, etc.

An atelier in French parlance is workshop primarily for an artist. It has morphed into a learning studio in English whereby an artist trains a small group of students in his or her craft.

This lady seems to work in the French style whereby she creates, manufactures and sells all in the same space, hence atelier-couture. While often the spaces are quite small in Paris, her Lyon shop appears spacious.

This business card is an elegant representation of her craft. It is a little black dress on which to place individualized adornments from Isabaud Couture.

 

Isabaud Couture

Chanel

by Dawn on April 26, 2014

Chanel. Chanel. Chanel. A brand that is so famous it needs nothing else but the name in the block letters of its logo, an address and a telephone number.

Even the card is like the chic little black dress made famous by Coco Chanel, the founder. Every lady should billet one in her closet as her go-to sheath; it need not be adorned. We must assume that this card is on luxurious card stock and printed with velvety ink. You can use an updated Next Day Flyers coupon to get yours done in the same sleek style at an affordable price.

The House of Chanel was founded by Gabrielle Bonheur Chanel, affectionately known as Coco, from her time as a chanteuse, singer. In 1909 Mlle Chanel opened a millinery shop in Paris. Back in the day a lady wore hats–the wealthier she was, the more hats she owned. Thus her chapeaux were in great demand.

In 1913 she was selling practical prêt-à porter clothing for ladies’ sports (!) and by World War I she had opened a dress shop near the Hotel Ritz.

Her style was a direct antithesis to the hour glass shaped, constrictive, fussy style coming out of the Victorian era. Between the shortage of materials during the war and women’s desire to be more active, she developed a simple style with a nod to the uniforms of the soldiers.

Chanel’s clothes were simple and elegant and have remained so. A look at her site shows her designs remain similar year over year, with the rich, often quilted or tweedy fabrics telling most of the story while the designs remain fairly similar.

At first blush this business card looks like a little bit of nothing, but we posit that this is precisely the point. Less is more. There is no need for the House of Chanel to but present a card to the ladies and their gentlemen as a gentle reminder of their location in Madrid.

Chanel

Le Petit Manoir

by Russ on April 21, 2014

This brings back sooo many memories. We have stayed in petit two and, si nous avons eu la bonne chance, three stars. They can be incredibly charming and a throw back to mid century–the 20th of course.

Le Petit Manoir (The Little Manor/Country House) gives us a super helpful hand drawn map showing the crazy angled streets of Paris so we can locate this out-of-the-way hotel.

Now, we can see that this is an older business card, perhaps 1960s at best, but we can assure you that this hotel has probably not changed much except perhaps for the introduction of WiFi. You can get your own set of quality business cards just like this from businesscarddesignreviews.com/vistaprint-coupons/ and boost your businesses’s image with expert workmanship and expert attention to detail.

We can picture it now–smell it even. It is surely four or five stories, it may not even have a lift (elevator for those of us in the Colonies), but if it does it will be tiny. It will barely be able to contain two people let alone American style luggage.

The lift will have a folding iron gate to close and perhaps a solid door, too. Count yourself lucky if this lift is in operation because schlepping luggage up several flights of narrow, often open, stairs is no treat after a long journey to the Continent.

Your room will be tiny and simple with beds that have seen better days. It is even possible that there is a shared bathroom situation. Horrors! But this is down more in the one star range and perhaps a few two stars. Let’s avoid the one stars, shall we?!

But, you will be rewarded with super high ceilings (those flights of stairs just grew) and amazing, ornate, tall, tall French doors which open up to a mini-balcony and onto the street or onto a courtyard that may or may not be exquisite.

Each time you leave the Le Petit Manoir you will be required to leave your huge, very antique key, with its even bigger and heavier fob at the front desk. You will retrieve it each time you re-enter. We have even had a closing time for the front desk, so you had better get back on time.

And as this card advertises you’ll probably enjoy a better than average complimentary petit déjeuner (breakfast) because they have a salon du thé and patisserie on the premises. Yep, we got the idea of free breakfast at our hotels from the Europeans who have been doing this forever.

Back to our business card in question. While the top third is filled with the aforementioned map, the remainder, in various green fonts, gives us all the information needed to find and savor this slice of Parisian history.

They speak English which is important because we can see from the map that they are very near–although the map is in no way to scale–two railway stations. They are used to dealing with tourists.

Don’t be fearful of trying Le Petit Manoir but rather enjoy the often sweet and friendly ambiance of an era not quite yet gone by.

Le Petit Manoir

Adrien Tournachon

by Russ on March 29, 2014

The antique business card is a glimpse into the trades and advertising methods of their time. There are some fascinating items to note on this little slice of history. There is a lot to be gained by finding little historical treasures such as this. To make your own business card one such treasure, Vistaprint coupons from http://businesscarddesignreviews.com/vistaprint-coupons/ will give you the quality and price you need to make your company remembered for all of the right reasons.

As with other cards of this era, we see a type of crest flanked by medallions. The crest is an eagle sitting on center stage with the theater curtains dramatically drawn back. It is topped by a regal crown.

To the left is a medallion from France, 1855, featuring Louis-Napoleon Bonaparte, Napoleon III. The medallion to the right is from Belgium in 1857 and features King Leopold the First.

Centered across the card in bold, shadowed letters is the name of the business with the word “photographers” just below. The following line, in a stylish outline font adds, “of S. M. Empress.” Here they are refering to Napoleon III’s wife, Empress Eugenie, Countess of Tejo.

Related distantly to both a King Spain and of Portugal, she caught Napoleon III’s eye at a reception at the Elysee Palace, his residence. Raised and educated in Paris, she refused Napoleon III’s advances until marriage.

Needing an heir, and under the threat ot Eugenie leaving Paris, Napoleon III proposed. They were married in 1853. In 1856 Eugenie gave birth to a son, Napoleon IV. Hereafter Napoleon III resumed he extramarital dalliances with other women. Ah, les français!

It is interesting to note that Eugenie was very much interested in women’s causes. For example, she put pressure on the Minister of Education to award the very first baccalaureate diploma to a woman.

Returning to our business card, the information ends with address of their studio at the bottom.

We recently reviewed an A+ old timey card, whereas this one is more of a B. It follows the common style of the period, mid 18th century, but with less panache–and less braggadocio–than others we have seen.

Adrien Tournachon

Hôtel du Pavillon

by Russ on March 25, 2014

There must be some fascinating history behind this, dare we say, antique business card. If you want your business card to be respected in perpetuity, go with Next Day Flyers Coupons from http://businesscarddesignreviews.com/next-day-flyers-coupon/ to get the image upgrade your company needs.

The YMCA’s logo stands at the top center of this card with the clarification, “American,” hovering above. Let’s start by letting you know, if you don’t know already, that YMCA stands for Young Men’s Christian Association.

Founded in 1844 in London and now worldwide, they seek to develop body, mind and spirit through the application of Christian principles. The Worldwide Alliance of YMCAs is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland.

This YMCA is located in the extreme north of Paris, as we are told by the nearest métro station, St.-Denis. It is the Hôtel du Pavillon because historically a safe place for young men to stay was the primary function of the organization.

During the industrialization of England in the 19th century, the YMCA provided safe housing for the young men traveling from rural areas to London seeking work. At the time, taverns and brothels were the typical draws for young men. The founding of the YMCA was to provide healthy, Christian alternatives.

In 1855, a number of delegates from YMCAs in Europe and North America met in Paris for a conference to form a confederation. While each group remained independent, they agreed to a “common mission for all present and future YMCAs.”

So why American above the logo? Our best guess is that this particular YMCA may have been for American men in particular with English as the language spoken.

This seems to be somewhat supported as we move to the lower portion of the card where we find Hotel for Enlisted Men along with the address and phone number. A little more research uncovers that this YMCA was available to the soldiers as early as World War I.

How can we comment on the design of an antique ministry business card, discolored, folded and tattered? We can, in so much as we can say how wonderful that this YMCA had the wisdom to advertise their hotel.

Surely it was a treasured island available to enlisted men, probably American, during one of the most horrific wars the modern world has ever seen.

Much of the historical information was taken from Wikipedia, YMCA.

 

86-404-J Business Card, YMCA, Paris, WWI